2017 Winners

NAPO Top Cops

Each year since 1994 NAPO has presented the TOP COPS Awards® Ceremony.   The purpose of the TOP COPS Awards® is to educate the American public about our nation’s heroes and to pay tribute to law enforcement officers in federal, state, county, tribal and local agencies from across the country for actions above and beyond the call of duty during the preceding year. Our TOP COPS are nominated by fellow officers.  An independent Awards Selection Committee comprised of national law enforcement representatives select, from hundreds of nominations, one TOP COP case from each of the 50 States and U.S. territories.  Officers from the top ten cases are selected as our  TOP COPS Award® Winners.  In each remaining state, one case has been selected for which the officer(s) will receive an Honorable Mention award.   More



Phoenix Police Department

Sergeant Steven Wong
Officer Marc Valenzuela


Chicago Police Department

Police Officer Alejandro Lagunas
Police Officer Antonio Herrera
Police Officer Michael A. Cantore
Detective Arturo V. Bracho


Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department

Sergeant Robert P. Pearsey


Boston Police Department

Patrolman Eric Thomas Schmidt
Patrolman Richard Cintolo
Patrolman Matthew J. Morris
Patrolman Clifton Singletary
Patrolman Lenin Ortiz
Patrolman Joseph H. McSorley
Patrolman Joseph Greco
Sergeant Norberto Perez

Massachusetts State Police

Trooper A. J. Kardoos
Trooper Scott M. McDonald
Sergeant Michael H. Baker


New Jersey

Linden, New Jersey Police Department

Police Officer David Guzman
Police Officer Angel L. Padilla Jr.
Police Officer Daniel R. Diaz
Investigator Mark A. Kahana
Investigator Peter D. Hammer Jr.

New York

New York City Police Department

Police Officer Elwin Martinez
Police Officer Arvid Flores
Lieutenant Emmanuel Kwo

Syracuse Police Department

Police Officer Kelsey J. Francemone


Oregon State Police

Trooper Nic Cederberg


Antigo, Wisconsin Police Department

Patrolman Andrew Hopfensperger



Huntsville Police Department

Officer Tony W. Bryant


Los Angeles Police Department

Police Officer II Calvin Hill
Police Officer II Chris A. Vege


Stamford Police Department

Sergeant Sean McGowan

District of Columbia

Metropolitan Police Department

Sergeant Kevin J. Naus
Officer Yassine Bahammou
Officer Christopher J. Carkeek
Officer Winfield S. Slade


Palm Beach County Sheriff's Office

Deputy Sheriff Humberto Mejia Jr.
Deputy Sheriff Anthony Siena


Georgia Department of Corrections

Special Agent Lyle Wilkes


Boise Police Department

Detective Tim Brady
Corporal Coy Bruner
Corporal Denny Carter
Corporal Chris Davis
Corporal Brek W. Orton


Federal Bureau of Investigation

Special Agent Stewart M. Bloomfield

Topeka Police Department

Task Force Officer Anthony Obregon
Task Force Officer Patrick A. Salmon

Shawnee County Sheriff’s Office

Deputy John R. Peterson Jr.

United States Marshals Service

Supervisory Deputy U.S. Marshal Troy J. Schuster
Senior Inspector Jerry Viera
Deputy U.S. Marshal Jeff Andrew
Deputy U.S. Marshal Romel J. Sinclair


Kentucky State Police

Trooper Adam Childress


United States Marshals Service

Senior Inspector Jake M. Credo


United States Marshals Service

Chief Inspector Floriano Whitwell


Detroit Police Department

Officer Luis Alberto Caban
Officer Amy Szarafinski

New Hampshire

Manchester Police Department

Officer Ryan Hardy


Las Vegas Metro Police Department

Officer Dave Corbin
Officer Samuel B. Solorio Jr.

North Carolina

Federal Bureau of Investigation

Supervisory Sr. Resident Agent Stanley M. Meador


Sylvania Township Police Department

Officer Kevin A. Steinman
Officer John Tanner


Elizabeth Borough Police

Patrolman Garrett K. Kimmell

Rhode Island

Tiverton Police Department

Corporal Joseph Wieszbicki

Fall River, Massachusetts Police Department

Officer David L. Gouveia
Patrol Officer J.T. Hoar


Shelbyville Police Department

Lieutenant Fred J. Harvey


Austin Police Department

Senior Police Officer Armando Perez Jr.

Fort Worth Police Department

Sergeant Cory Luttmer
Officer Matthew Pearce
Officer Brandi Kamper


Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives

Senior Special Agent Maurice Ferentino

Pennsylvania Office of Attorney General

Special Agent Timothy Nutter
Special Agent Matthew Truesdell

Pittsburgh Bureau of Police

Detective Timothy Rush

U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration

Special Agent Thomas M. Cielecy

U.S. Treasury Department-IRS

Special Agent Jamie Ball


Federal Bureau of Investigation

Special Agent Mary E. Boese
Special Agent Matthew Deragon
Special Agent James A. Mahoney
Special Agent Thomas D. McCarney
Special Agent Brendan P. Mooney
Special Agent Christopher J. Pagoni
Special Agent Jonathan C. Scott
Special Agent Brandon Waller

New York City Police Department

Detective Franklin Garcia
Detective David Milani