NAPO Top CopsSince NAPO launched the awards program in 1994, the TOP COPS Awards® have paid tribute to outstanding law enforcement officers across the country for actions above and beyond the call of duty. TOP COPS® awardees are nominated by their fellow officers for outstanding service during the preceding calendar year.

The TOP COPS® are selected by an Awards Selection Committee comprised of national law enforcement representatives who choose one TOP COPS® case from each state and U.S. territory. The cases are then ranked and the top ten case winners are flown to Washington, DC for the awards ceremony. The awards show features a three-minute videotape of each TOP COP® and his or her story.

The TOP COPS Awards® are attended by celebrities, politicians, members of the national law enforcement community, corporate donors and other interested individuals. Here is just a short list of attendees we’ve been honored to have throughout the years:

The President of the United States

The Vice President of the United States

The Attorney General of the United States

Chris Bauer - NBC's, Law & Order: Special Victims Unit

Michael Beach - NBC’s, Third Watch

Coby Bell - NBC’s, Third Watch

David Berman - CBS's, CSI

Ellen Burstyn

Eddie Cahill - CBS's, CSI: New York

Bobby Cannavale - NBC’s, Third Watch

Seamus Dever - ABC's, Castle

Vince D'Onofrio - NBC's, Law & Order: Criminal Intent

Michael Ealy - CBS's, The Good Wife

Kathryn Erbe - NBC's, Law & Order: Criminal Intent

Dann Florek - NBC’s, Law & Order: Special Victims Unit

John Finn - CBS's, Cold Case

Milena Govich - FX Series, Rescue Me

Chris Hansen - Crime Watch Daily

Mariska Hargity - NBC’s Law & Order: Special Victims Unit

Abigail Hawk - CBS’s Blue Bloods

James Earl Jones

Beth Karas - TruTV

Gregory Jbara - CBS’s Blue Bloods

Penny Johnson - ABC’s Castle

Ray Kelly - Commissioner, U.S. Customs Service, Commissioner New York City Police Department

Warren Kole - USA's, Common Law

Rex Linn - CBS's, CSI: Miami

David McCallum - CBS, NCIS

Jack McGee - FX Series: Rescue Me

Christopher Meloni - NBC’s Law & Order: Special Victims Unit

S. Epatha Merkerson - NBC’s Law & Order

Craig Morgan - Country Music Superstar

Diane Neal - NBC's, Law & Order: Special Victims Unit

Jeffrey Nordling - Fox's, 24

Bebe Neuwirth - CBS's Madame Secretary

Chris Noth - NBC's, Law & Order: Criminal Intent

Pauley Perrette - CBS's, NCIS

Jeremy Ratchford - CBS's, Cold Case

John Riggins - Pro-Football Hall of Fame

Linus Roache - NBC's, Law & Order

Carlo Rota - Fox's, 24

Skipp Sudduth - NBC’s, Third Watch

John Walsh -  FOX’s, America’s Most Wanted

Steve Zirnkilton - NBC's, Law & Order

Proceeds from this event benefit the National Law Enforcement Officers’ Rights Center, the Police Research and Education Project (PREP), NAPO’s 501 (c)(3) educational organization.